Log in

Auditor releases monthly compliance reports


Missouri State Auditor Nicole Galloway recently issued monthly reports detailing the compliance of cities and other political subdivisions with financial reporting laws. 

One report includes cities, towns and villages while the other lists political subdivisions such as water, fire protection and other taxing districts. The entities are required to file annual financial reports with the State Auditor's Office within six months of the end of their fiscal year. 

A total of 400 municipalities and 1,524 taxing districts were required to file by June 30 because their fiscal year ended Dec. 31. Of those entities, 1,3284 filed financial reports timely. 

Among the area’s cities filing timely financial reports are Brandsville, Birch Tree, Eminence, Winona and Houston. The city of Willow Springs did not make the deadline, however, an addendum required of every municipality to account for the percentage of general operating income from fines, bond forfeitures and traffic court costs was filed by the city, as well as the necessary court certification.

Houston filed the addendum, but not the certification, the auditor’s report shows.

The city of Thayer’s financial report for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, was also filed in a timely manner; it was due Dec. 31 of that year, and filed Dec. 31. The city also has filed its court addendum and certification.

The area’s non-municipal political subdivisions which met the June 30 deadline to file financial reports include Ava Ambulance District and Douglas County Health Department and Library District; Brandsville Fire Protection District; Howell County 911, Health Department and Rural Fire Protection District 1; Pomona Fire Protection District; Public Water Supply District 3, Howell County; and South Howell Ambulance District.

Also filing timely reports were Oregon County Health Department and Library District; Public Water Supply District 1, Ozark County; Shannon County Health Department; Public Water Supply Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4, Texas County; Texas County Memorial Hospital Community Improvement District; Texas County Health Department and Library District; TCMH; Mtn. Grove Special Road District, Wright County; Public Water Supply District 1, Wright County; and Wright County 911, Health Department and Library District.

Those who did not make the deadline include Pumpkin Center Fire Protection District; Public Water Supply District 1, Howell County; Willow Springs Ambulance District and Library District; Oregon County Ambulance District; Thayer Special Road District, Oregon County; Ozark County Ambulance District and Health Center; Shannon County Ambulance District; Timber Community Fire Protection District; Licking Route 32 Community Improvement District; and Texas County Emergency Services Board.




West Plains Daily Quill, West Plains Daily Quill news, Quill news, Missouri State Auditor report


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here