Log in

27% of Shannon County voters cast ballots in primary election 


Shannon County’s 5,514 registered voters cast 1,494 ballots in the primary election for local and statewide offices. 

In the primary election held Aug. 2, Shannon County voters had the opportunity to cast a ballot for the Democratic nomination for Prosecuting Attorney and other local, statewide and congressional offices. 

All candidates for county offices were unopposed in the primary election for their party’s nomination except for candidates vying for the position of prosecuting attorney for the county. 

Candidate William Seay won the Democratic nomination for Prosecuting Attorney with 267 votes over incumbent Jodie Brumble, with 241 votes.

Seay will run unopposed in November’s general election. 

Here are the results of how the primary election unfolded in Shannon County, submitted to the Quill on Monday by County Clerk Shelly Bland, with all precincts reported. 

The Secretary of State’s office will certify election results no later than Aug. 30. 

Presiding Commissioner

Republican candidate for Presiding Commissioner Beth Long was unopposed in the primary election and received 750 votes.

Long will face incumbent Democratic candidate Jeff Cowen in November’s general election. 

Cowen was unopposed in the primary election and received 333 votes.


Uncontested Races

Candidates running unopposed in November’s general election are current officeholders County Clerk Shelly Bland, County Treasurer Michelle Shedd, County Collector Susie Needels, Circuit Clerk Melany Williams and Associate 37th Circuit Judge Sandra Brewer. 

Incumbent Republican Chris Dinkins was unopposed in the primary election for District 144 in the Missouri House of Representatives. 

Dinkins, a former public school teacher, has served five years in the House of Representatives, representing Iron County and parts of Washington, Wayne and Reynolds counties. 

She was elected to her first term in the Missouri House in a special election held February 2018.

Likewise, incumbent Republican Darrell Atchison was unopposed in the primary election for Missouri House District 153.

Atchison has represented Carter and Ripley counties and parts of Wayne and Butler counties in the House since he was elected to his first two-year term in November 2020. 


Contested Races

Attorney General Eric Schmitt won the Shannon County Republican nomination for U.S. Senate with 400 votes, followed by former Missouri Gov. Eric Greitens with 282 votes. 

Trudy Busch Valentine won the county’s Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate with 133 votes, followed by Lucas Kunce with 86 votes. 

Missouri Treasurer Scott Fitzpatrick defeated State Rep. David Gregory for the Republican nomination for State Auditor with 544 votes. Missouri Auditor Nicole Galloway, a Democrat, has held the position since 2015. 

Incumbent Jason Smith won the local Republican nomination for U.S. Congressman for the 8th District with 816 votes over challenger Jacob Turner, with 135 votes. 


West Plains Daily Quill, West Plains Daily Quill news, Quill news, Shannon County news, Shannon County election, Shannon County primary, Shannon County primary election