Log in

Texas County Memorial Hospital recognizes employees


Texas County Memorial Hospital gave out top employee awards and honored 38 employees with service awards at the 41st annual Celebration of TCMH Employees on Dec. 8 at the Jayson Gentry Community Safe Room at TCMH.  

Elaine Koch of Bucyrus, the hospital’s dietary manager, took top honors as manager of the year at TCMH for 2023.

“TCMH is fortunate to have Elaine as our dietary manager. Elaine takes pride in managing her staff and department, creating a welcoming environment for everyone. Elaine and her team serve approximately 725 meals daily to employees, visitors, and patients. She is very committed and supports all activities and special meetings, regardless of the day or time,” CEO Stace Holland said of Koch, who has been employed at the hospital since 2019. “She is very deserving of this award and a great asset to TCMH.”

Dietary employee Tracey Stewart of Houston received the Elite Employee of the Year award, which recognizes a worker who has gone above and beyond to provide excellent customer service or demonstrate the hospital’s WE CARE behaviors and values.  

Stewart, a TCMH employee since 2007, was nominated twice by her coworkers for her kind and compassionate care towards patients and coworkers. She was described as having the best attitude in the hospital. 

“Tracey provides exceptional care and compassion towards both the patients and the staff,” said Koch, her supervisor. “She always goes the extra mile to ensure that her patients receive the best care possible. She is known for her kind and caring demeanor and is always ready to help her patients in any way she can, even holding their hands when they need it. Tracey has a special talent for caring for people and is truly amazing at what she does.”

Koch and Stewart were each honored with an engraved plaque, a $500 check, a pin and a day of paid time off.

Executive assistant and medical staff coordinator Faith Wallace of the administration department was honored as an employee who exemplified excellent customer service.

“It is a privilege to work with such amazing people at TCMH,” Wallace said. “I am thankful every day for the opportunity to be a part of something that touches so many lives.” Wallace was awarded a plaque for her efforts and a $150 check.

The rehabilitation services department was honored with a Customer Service Department of the Year” award for excellent customer service to patients, visitors, and staff. Department staff will receive a special meal in their honor. 

Holland also recognized employees with service awards: Linda Hall was recognized for 45 years of service. Cathy Stilley, Michelle Jenkins, Dr. Stephen Hawkins, Shannon Bridges, Jo Stout and Jerry Pursifull were recognized for 30 years of service. Patty Crosley, Chris Weaver and Dana Wilson were recognized for 25 years of service.

Cora Turnbull, Jason Steelman, Dr. Tricia Benoist, Jennifer Smith, John Derrick and Jessica Dawson were recognized for 15 years of service. Stephen Wilkins, Micki Cummins, Rhonda Jones and Michelle Bergonzoni were recognized for 10 years of service.

Recognized for five years of service were Trisha Adey, Brenda Cooper, Winter Lee, Amber Nichols, Ashley Davis, Jessica Gettys, Melissa Trevino, Traci Swallow, Terri Hummel, Mason Vandevort, Bethany Thompson, Sharla Gibby, Randall Devore, Tom Coggins, Hannah Chilton, Maddie Rolen, Shelly Hawkins and Kathy Murray. 

In addition to the ceremony, the event included an invocation by Leon Slape, a video featuring pictures taken at TCMH throughout the year, a meal served by the TCMH dietary department, and several employees who won door prizes.